Blog Event, Uncategorized

25 Books of Christmas Blog Event- Day 1

25 books of christmas banner-fb

Good morning Lovelies!

Its DECEMBER! Yay! The holidays are right around the corner and in true blogger spirit, I am participating in a blog event. Mersadies from Between the Bindings and I are doing a “25 Books of Christmas” blog event together this year! We will be alternating days and will post a book each day that either has a Christmas theme or is just a great read for the holidays. We are going to try to include as many different genres as possible to have great options for everyone. Thank you for tuning in and we really hope you enjoy!

Text Dividers-06

Day One

34275234

Mr. Dickens and His Carol by Samantha Silva

Publication Date: October 31, 2017

Genre: Historical Fiction

Find it on Amazon

“Shakespeare in Love meets A Christmas Carol in this transporting debut novel set during the whirlwind period in which Dickens wrote his beloved classic, as he embarks on a Scrooge-like journey of his own.

For Charles Dickens, each Christmas has been better than the last. His novels are literary blockbusters, and he is famous on the streets of London, where avid fans sneak up on him to snip off pieces of his hair. He and his wife have five happy children, a sixth on the way, and a home filled with every comfort they could imagine. But when Dickens’ newest book is a flop, the glorious life he has built for himself threatens to collapse around him. His publishers offer an ultimatum: either he writes a Christmas book in a month, or they will call in his debts, and he could lose everything. Grudgingly, he accepts, but with relatives hounding him for loans, his wife and children planning an excessively lavish holiday party, and jealous critics going in for the kill, he is hardly feeling the Christmas spirit.

Increasingly frazzled and filled with self-doubt, Dickens seeks solace and inspiration in London itself, his great palace of thinking. And on one of his long walks, in a once-beloved square, he meets a young woman in a purple cloak, who might be just the muse he needs. Eleanor Lovejoy and her young son, Timothy, propel Dickens on a Scrooge-like journey through his Christmases past and present—but with time running out, will he find the perfect new story to save him?

In prose laced with humor, sumptuous Victorian detail, and charming winks to A Christmas Carol, Samantha Silva breathes new life into an adored classic. Perfect for fans of Dickens, for readers of immersive historical fiction, and for anyone looking for a dose of Christmas cheer, Mr. Dickens and His Carol is destined to become a perennial holiday favorite. ” 

Text Dividers-06

If this novel doesn’t put you in the holiday spirit, then nothing will! I do not typically gravitate towards historical fiction. However, I love the idea of delving into the life of this famous author during his struggle and creative process of writing the holiday classic we all have come to know and adore. I can’t wait to get my hands on this one. It sounds absolutely magical and I bet when you crack the first page you hear a tinkle of a bell and a chilly breeze ruffles your hair… It could happen.

*Readers, have you already read this one? If so, please let me know what you thought!

signature

19 thoughts on “25 Books of Christmas Blog Event- Day 1”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s